1911Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at these tactical leg strap drop holsters in places like Brigade Quartermasters, Blackhawk, and Uncle Mike's. Now, who out there owns one? How do you like it? I like the fact that you can drop it below a coat and have it accessable (or below a fanny pack while hiking.) My questions are:

1.) Is it comfortable? I remember that the protective mask pouch in the army also strapped to the leg, but I can't remember if it was comfortable or not now.
2.) Do the straps rub or chafe the leg? (And a male question: The top leg strap doesn't bind or squish the ol' wedding tackle does it?)
3.) Does the holster ride pretty snug?
4.) Can the holster be used i a hip-carry position as well?
5.) Overall satisfaction?

------------------

Those that beat their swords into plowshares will plow for those that don't

·
Registered
13 Posts
I've been using a thigh holster on a SWAT team for a couple of years now. I find them to be very comfortable.Most of us on the team use the Safariland. The ones with a contured back plate seem to stay put much better than those without. Look for wide elastic leg straps as they "give" and are more comfortable when moving. Also the drop on the thigh is ajustable so you can miss the "wedding tackle".

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Rainman has summed it up. Make sure that whatever brand you decide upon, has at least 1 1/2" wide straps. I believe all the brands you listed do. Some cheaper brands have thinner straps and they can be quite uncomfortable.