1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, new to the site and CWP carrier for about 2 months now. I have been interested in Kimber for quite some time and I have been shooting since I was about 10 years old(I am 22 now). I have a used Kimber Tactical Pro II pistol on layaway. I wanted to see what you all thought of this particular pistol and what I should look out for and also what I shold be proud of. I'm almost certain that there were less than 300 rounds fired through this gun. My father agrees (he was a small arms instructor in the Air Force about 20 years ago). From what I can see it seems to be in good condition and it fires well. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
146 Posts
I think you will enjoy carrying this gun.

The Tacticals have an aluminum frame. Some decry the durability of aluminum 1911s, but I don’t worry too much about it. That said, my favorite range gun is a 4” aluminum frame Pro Carry II.

My experience is that the 4” barrel is a force to be reckoned with on the range. It is capable of some stunning accuracy. Ragged 1 hole groups are the norm with mine and I can even outshoot my Ruger .22 if the range gods are smiling on me.

If it only has 300 rounds through it, it isn’t through the 500 round factory recommended break-in period yet. Put 200 rounds or so of your favorite carry ammo through it before calling it good. Also, make sure it is well lubed during break-in.

Good Luck :)

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, I'm amazed that it can outshoot a ruger .22 but hey. I've heard great things about Kimber. I can't wait to get it off layaway. Oh, what type of holster would you recommend for concealed carry of this gun? I am a scrawny person and even concealing a Taurus 85 in my pants at the 6 O'clock position is a strech. I was thinking a shoulder holster during the colder months would be best for this gun. Any more help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered