1911Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I couldn't shoot my old glock very well so I sold it and got a 1911. I can't shoot the 1911 very well either. I'm a military officer and can shoot good with an m9 though which puzzles me. Without buying a book, is there something out there that gives pistol shooting techniques/tips? Thanks

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
Hate to tell you, but...

If you base your shooting ability on the standard 240 point course everybody on this board is an expert. If you do the watchstander qualification (that might be Navy only) it's even worse. The best thing you can do is get some basic instruction from a pro or a good book written by one of the recognized masters of the "modern technique". Over the net instruction would be hard to do without illustrations or personal correction.

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
I would think that as long as you have the basic understandings of marksmanship, grip, breathing, sight alignment, trigger control and so on.....the rest is practice practice and more practice. The basics will get you on target and proficient(sp?) with your weapon, unless your going for bullseye style shooting, and thats a different gig. But for a good qual on the range, the basics have always gotten me an "E". FWIW

·
Premium Member
5,967 Posts
cobranx said:
I can't shoot the 1911 very well either. I'm a military officer and can shoot good with an m9 though which puzzles me.