1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was talking to the counter help at the range I use and the subject came around to reloading. Now I am a novice at things gun related but have a interest and am learning all the time. I understand I can save money by reloading my casings but I want to know some pro's and con's. Cost of initial outlay for equipment, difficulty with the process, and danger factors. I am sure that as with most things one can go as extrem as they want but I just want to save some money at the range. BTW, I currently shoot 230 grain FMJ, American Eagle brand.
Thanks in advance for your help and as always I have learned a lot from this site. Maybe one day I can have a catchy Fraze attached to my post's.
:p
Joe

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well for Christ sakes maybe I should look beyond my fingers at the screen before I post. I am sorry for posting a repeat message and not searching ahead of time.
:mummy:

Joe

·
Registered
555 Posts
I just spent most of last night studying Brian Enos' Reloading FAQ, which answered most of my questions about things like, " what all do I need", "how much does it all cost", etc.
Granted, this page only covers Dillon, but that's what I plan to go with.
I came up with about $640 for an RL 550 (all new equipment) for everything you need to get started reloading 45acp.
Hopefully, I can find some of this stuff used.
Good luck. :)

·
Super Moderator
14,906 Posts
Joe,
You asked for Pro's and Con's about handloading. Here's my opinions:

PRO:
1. Cheaper than buying factory.
2. Able to "tune" your loads to your specific gun & needs.
3. It's just a fun & interesting thing to do if you're a curious "experimenter" type person.

CON;
1. Big upfront investment in equipment.
2. Must make decisions about what powder, bullet, OAL, etc. to use.
3. Takes your time & labor that could be spent doing other things.