1911Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, Mods if this is the wrong place for this, I apologize and feel free to move it as you see fit.

I have been a truck driver for a few years now, but I have always wanted to become a LEO on the city or county level...I'm going to call the local sheriffs office tomorrow and talk to them about it, but in the mean time...what is generally required, as in education...I have my GED and am plenty capable of earning a degree in Criminal Justice and/or Investigation...but I was wondering if its possible to get this with "on the job training".

This is not a decision made on a "whim"...its been in the back of my mind for a few years.

I'm tired of that damned old truck and want to work locally...I'm guessing that here in my area they are not very picky (I went to school with most of the current local LEO's...I know (knew) them.

All input appreciated...Thank You:)

·
Registered
1,785 Posts
You could most likely find out what the requirements are by doing a search for you local LE website.

A degree always helps, but here all you need is a high school equivalent education.

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You could most likely find out what the requirements are by doing a search for you local LE website.
I tried that...they don't have one...:(...I found a link but its a dead link.

But Thank You for the reply.

·
Registered
907 Posts
Get a start

If you have to work some place which is not your dream to get through the academy, and then move as a lateral (in some places the GED might hurt you), consider that. At least in some parts of the country, getting the certificate makes you a lot more marketable.

·
Premium Member
20,401 Posts