1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got back from my 3rd range trip with a new Stainless Classic. Or, I should say, an _attempted_ range trip.

After several major malfunctions (including a case rupture and two doublings < 100 rounds apart), I had sent the gun back to the factory for repairs. It came back quickly enough - and they had remarked "can not duplicate condition".

I'm the furthest thing from a 1911 expert, but I strongly suggested that I thought the disconnector had a problem. Apparently they didn't think this was worth checking.

Before I left today, I field stripped the gun, and tested the solidity of the disconnector. I could get the hammer to drop with the damn thing 1/2 way depressed, or _more_. Not being an expert, I thought that maybe that was normal. Out to the range I go, intending to have the smith verify what I was seeing. It didn't take him more than 10 seconds to get the hammer to drop in a clear out-of-battery condition. "Ooh. That's bad" he said. He was able to make it happen several more times. He guessed the disconnector was short and/or loose.

Great - I sent a majorly malfunctioning gun back to the factory and they send it back to me just as dangerous as ever. I strongly suspect my original case rupture was due to an out-of-battery discharge. Chances are the same faulty disconnector caused the doublings.

I'm done with this gun at this point. And, sadly, I will never buy anything from Kimber again. And I think I'll be staying away from semi-autos as well
This gun is getting drop-kicked out the door.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any input on the best way to get rid of this POS. Could I send it to Kimber for a refund or something, and have them dispose of it? There's no way I'll put this gun in a position where it could be re-sold to someone else and blow up in their hands. Is there any way I can at least recover part of the $800 price tag on this thing?

·