1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a new to me SW1911. I took it out to shoot earlier today and after some shots the ambidextrous thumb safety would be raised up slightly, enough that it wouldn't allow the trigger to be pulled. By moving my hands lower, it seemed to alleviate the problem. However, this shouldn't be happening.

I'm fairly new to 1911s, but I do have a Springfield EMP which also has the same safety set up and don't have this problem.

Any advice? Thanks in advance for the help, I really appreciate it.

·
Registered
651 Posts
The plunger should be fitted into a detent that prevents accidental movement but allows the safety to be snicked easily ON or OFF.

Your plunger may be misfitted, have a weak spring, or the safety itself may have been improperly fitted/cut.

·
Premium Member
14,638 Posts
Consider using the high thumbs forward hand hold.

LOG

·
Registered
5,088 Posts
The part about moving your hands further down the butt solved the problem is the clue. What's happening is during recoil your thumb is just slightly bumping the underside of the safety level.

By riding the top of the level you both prevent this and grip the gun higher, allowing better control.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks everybody, I suspected that it was partially due to my hold of the gun. I just was unsure because I've never that the problem with my EMP.

PS Log, can I send you my EMP mags in January?

·
Registered
243 Posts
My hand hold is so high my weak hand can put the safety on. My strong thumb can't rest on the lever because my other hand is higher than the lever.