1911Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
902 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Once again I am in need of my fellow 1911 forum friends help with an issue. I have been a police officer for over 15 years and have been carrying a concealed weapon daily for pretty much all of that time. Yet, although I have received a ton of firearms training I have never received any training specifically dedicated to concealed carry. I brought this subject up with some of our training staff and as luck would have it, I was asked to get something together. Although I have some ideas of my own, I figured I shouldn't re-invent the wheel so to speak. Does anyone out there have a specific course that their department teaches that they might be willing to share? Due to obvious officer safety concerns, please PM me with specific course info. :)

·
Registered
160 Posts
Retention, presentation, and effective concealment techniques are what will be different from your current "uniformed" training. Once the guns out everything is the same when you think of it.

I recommend incorporating interactive use of force scenarios to demonstrate what works and what does not holster, retention, and presentation wise. Red guns, face shields, and minimal pads often helps demonstrate key points where even the best lecture material cannot.

Best of luck.

·
Registered
902 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I was thinking. I have been polling various detectives asking how they have been commonly carrying their weapons and I have received some rather interesting feedback. Some need to go in the "dumbest thing you ever heard a non-gun loving LEO say" category.

The most useful feedback has been the following styles:

1. Belt holster with thumb break: exposed and under a coat/shirt
2. Open top belt holster: under a coat and few exposed.
3. Fanny Pack: very few on-duty but alot off-duty
4. Purse: some in a holster and some without
5. Ankle carry
6. IWB: with holster and yes, without (veeery few)

·