1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the sport but am interested in learning the art of NRA Conventional Pistol shooting. I am practicing with a stock Colt Series 70 Government. I am unable to shoot anything that even remotely resembles a group at 25 yards, so I am not in a hurry to upgrade the pistol. My question centers on the placement of the trigger finger as it relates to trigger control. I have been repeatedly told not to use the first distal joint of the index finger. Page 22 of the USAMU Pistol Marksmanship Guide suggests that using either the pad or joint of the finger is a viable option. Using the finger joint feels most comfortable because my index finger is splayed out when using the pad. Which finger placement is most successfully used by most shooters? :confused:

Page 22, USAMU Pistol Marksmanship Guide:

·
Registered
394 Posts
For a lighter trigger (single action) I use option b (pad of fingertip). For a heavy trigger (double action / glock) I use option a (1st distal joint).

·
Registered
6,322 Posts
Where to place trigger finger

Use either the finger pad or the joint, your preference. Your objective is to release the trigger without disturbing sight alignment. so whichever works and is comfortable, use it! A person with long fingers may use their joint while a person with shorter fingers might like to use the finger pad. The bottom line is use what works for you.

Many years ago, I was told to use the finger pad since it is more sensitive. However, a great former National champion shooter named Brian Zinns uses the joint. I would never tell a great 2600 shooter and National Champion how to place his finger for trigger control:)....use what works best for you!

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
The portion of your trigger finger between the hand and the first joint MUST NOT make contact with the pistol when you pull the trigger. Too much finger in the guard will often cause that.