1911Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the 1911 platform. I just purchased a STI Edge 40 SW. Shot 400 rounds through it. The trigger is very nice but I'm wondering if using one of chucks trigger jigs would make it lighter and crisper? It's very nice now but I wouldn't mind a 2# or so trigger. I used it for USPSA.

·
Registered
784 Posts
I shoot with a couple open div. GM's,one of them being Steve Anderson,and they had me shoot the first season with the 3.5 lb trigger to just get used to the gun(transitions,splits,etc)and just had it dropped to 2.5 lbs and will get it from GS next week.btw I shoot limited major with my .40 sti edge.

·
Registered
8,321 Posts
If you are looking for a sub 3 pound trigger, from what I've read here and in other forums, the TR trigger job will probably be your safest bet.

I forget who posted it but I believe one of the smiths here got around a 2 pound pull with hammer hooks below .018.

Out of curiosity, have you ever competed with a trigger that light before?

·
Registered
139 Posts
Chuck's jig does not include honing stones. You can buy those from Brownells for $30.

If you are new to the 1911 platform, I suggest you have the trigger done by an expert. You can buy a $65 Marvel sear jig from Brownells, but if you don't know how to do it, you can mess it up and spend a lot more on repairs or new parts.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Chucks TR Jig is the best & easiest jig to use & get a perfect 2.5lb trigger on 1911's.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm waiting to test my trigger before I do anything. This is the nicest gun I have ever shot and will not mess it up. I was thinking about buying a used 1911 and taking it apart and studying it. I bought Jerry Kuhnhausen books mentioned about 1911. I will tinker with a used gun first. Maybe use it for single stack. Are there 1911 40SW I should consider or stay away from?
Thanks

·
Registered
2,996 Posts