1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
1911s and AR-15. I like building and tinkering.
446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still pretty new to guns, but as of lately, I've been handling quite a few, dry firing the majority of them. What I've come to realize is that a lot of guns have got a pretty decent trigger pull. Lever action, single action, autoloaders, my AR-9, etc...

Recently, I've gotten a chance to handle a S&W CSX and a Knighthawk custom. The gun store allowed me to handle and dry fire both, though I have to admit that handling the $4500 Knighthawk was a tiny bit nerve racking. My conclusion was the Knighthawk certainly was a smother operating gun with a lighter trigger pull, and was a thousand times prettier, I still didn't see how the extra lb or so from the CSX would make any difference to me. While I haven't actually fired them, I think that I would be as accurate with either of them since both trigger pulls seemed rather clean and crisp.

I bring this up because I've heard a lot of criticism of the CSX's trigger, it being too heavy and such. I can't help but think that this maybe one of the guns manufactured after whatever issues were fixed. Maybe? Or maybe the light trigger pull I feel is a lot harder on the trigger snobs than on me?

Maybe it's because I'm a stronger than most people. The gun with the heaviest trigger pull I've ever felt was from my H&R Model 900 22lr revolver; which must be 20+ pounds. But still, I managed a pretty good group considering that the gutter sights were mangled by a grinder (really need to JB Weld a picanny rail on that thing and put on a cheap, chinese red dot).

The 2nd worse was my 30-30 Winchester, with the trigger safety. But it only needed a bit of oiling and now it's the 3rd behind my cursed SCCY CPX2.