1911Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm leaning towards the TRS, but also like the SRP. Is the SRP worth the difference? Is BEAR COAT worth the extra? If so I'd love to get a TRS with BEAR COAT.

Any opinions one way or the other?

Steve

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
Either way you go you will end up with a magnificent pistol. I can personally attest to quality, durability, and shootability of the TR Special but I have had no experience with the SRP. I hear good things about BEAR COAT but I think hard chrome would be a better way to go if you don’t mind the color. I'm sure Les Baer will coat either pistol with any of the finishes they offer.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, A.J.

The appearance of the finish isn't as important to me as is the performance. I like the looks of hard chrome, but wouldn't want the reflection.

The plain blue of the TRS is fine by me. I was wondering if the Bear Coat performs/protects better during hard use.

Mil-spec parkerizing would be fine too. I'd prefer an ugly gun that performs beautifully, to a beautiful gun that doesn't perform.

------------------
Steve

·
Registered
4 Posts
Can't go wrong with a TRS. I have two and they are great....however skip the bearcoat.
I have one with it and it looks like a heavy coat of cheap spray paint. I will never have another gun with it. Go with hardchrome or
Birdsong's Black T.

·
Registered
215 Posts
I have a TRS that's about a year old and a SRP that was built in late '97 or early '98.