1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to cleaning and polishing my own cases. I'm interested to know the best way to clean my brass.

Should I clean with Walnut first, then polish with the corn?

Should I put an additive with the Walnut before cleaning? I know there are polishing additives to add to the corn media, but wondered about what I could add to the Walnut media.

I've read that some of you use car polish added to the corn media as an economical substitute. What is meant by that? What brand polish are we talking about?

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,080 Posts
Well, I've been doing this for about a month so let me give you the benefit of my experience. :p

I use walnut only, and it can be bought at PetSmart cheaper than gun stores. I've been running the tumbler 2 hours minimum and the brass looks shiny and new.

The polish alot of guys use in Nu-Finish car polish. I'll try this when my Dillons polish runs out.

Tearing up dryer sheets that my wife used and putting them in the tumbler seems to soak up alot of the dust.

I found out I could get over 500 .38 Spl cases in the CV-500 if I ran it a little bit and then added the rest. :D

·
Registered
166 Posts
---35 minutes in walnut media (cheap at Petco stores in the reptile section...).
---35 minutes in a 50-50 combo of 1/8" corncob media mixed with VERY fine grit (almost like coarse-ground wholewheat flour) corncob media.
---NO polishing goo or additives.
---Result: VERY clean 'n shiny 'n way smooth to the touch.

Works for ME.
:cool:

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
great advice. I have a very inexpensive source for the media too- a local feed store in town.

I'lll try w/ and without the car polish. Got lots of brass to experiment with :)

·
Premium Member
3,784 Posts
1. Stay away from that rouge-impregnated walnut crap. That stuff gets very messy very quick. Stick with good ol' corncob.