1911Forum banner

Urban SHTF pack

1242 7
Hi, several questions.

I live in a large suburban area and anything rural is miles and miles (take me a few days on foot to get there) away. Chances are I won't be needing stuff like signaling mirrors and such.

1. What else do I need other than water and food??? Most of the websites out there deal with being stuck in the middle of nowhere. My most realistic scenario is an earthquake.

2. First aid--I was told not to bring anything you don't know how to use. I have zero medical knowledge other than putting a band-aid over a minor boo-boo. Should I even bother?

3. Do I need all that crap like space blankets and stuff or will having a heavy outdoors jacket and parka do? I live in southern california and haven't even seen snow in 8 years (ski trip)

The only real scenario I can see happening is getting stuck on the freeway 30 miles away from home. What should I pack in the car? Where do I go poo-poo?

------------------
Jeff More
Irvine, PRC
All your AR-15 are belong to us!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
1,030 Posts
A first aid kit would be a good thing. You can pick up some good books that will help you deal with minor and sometimes major problems.

Few cans of sterno would be a good idea. Blankets, a few dry clothes, and dried food also.

I see some of those small hand pumps that purify water. See them advertised for hikers/campers. That may also be something to look into.

· Registered
856 Posts
...Geez...you need to discover ArmySurplus...
Have you ever gone camping in a remote area for a week? I mean...some place you can't drive to...