1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am very new to the building world, but do like to try things (within reason) and have pretty steady hands with a file.

The title says it all. I don't have a mill and am limited to either using cutting jigs like the Phantom Jig or files. Of course I do have a Dremel but I think it would do more harm than good for the applications I am asking about.

There are two things I am interested in finding out about...

1. There are no cutting jigs for 2011 frames that I know of. So if I was to try to cut the rails on a 2011 frame I would probably use the fixture that I can buy for milling the frame (can use it in the future when I have a mill) and use it as a guide for a rail file. Is this crazy?

2. I have not found a need for a ramped barrel but I would like to experiment and learn to fit one. This would require me to make the bridge and VIS cuts as far as I understand regardless of which ramp I choose - wilson/nowlin or clark/para. Can this be done with files? If it can, which one is easier? I assume W/N due to the VIS being straight but am not sure...

At this point I am not really set on this, but if there is a way I would continue thinking about it. If there is no way, I would like to not waste money.

Would appreciate your responses and guidance.
Thank you.

·
Registered
8,280 Posts
Cutting a W/N ramp on a frame without a mill....

Yes, it can be done......I know, because I have done it, using only hand tools. I did this on a single stack 1911 frame that was formerly used with a .45 slide. After I cut the W/N ramp, the top end I used is a Commander length slide and barrel chambered for .38 super. The gun is extremely reliable and is now my EDC gun.