1911Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Steyr pistol in .40. I'm pretty new to IPSC. I'm an accurate shooter, but still climbing up the ladder in fast handling, and there are good shooters at the local IPSC match. I won't win...but which class is best for a production gun in .40 shooting Major PF loads: L10 or Production?

Seems to me it's an issue of recovery time (vs. the 9mm) or less gun (vs. heavy, slick 1911s).

Any input?

TY,

Ben

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,282 Posts
If you are shooting major, L10 probably makes more sense. I'd say it really depends on the amount of local competition. I've been shooting Limited with my L10 gear, as there's a lot more competition in the former.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Your choices

Obviously none of us know you. So take all replies with a grain of salt.

Production is usually a 9mm game. Minor PF only, and that game is played at the edge of the A zone. Accuracy when shooting minor is much more important than when shooting major.

L-10, well you can be playing with big boys. You can have full blown limited guns and rigs just downloaded (whether by law or choice) and you can run major. That game is more speed than production, and the learning curve can be steep.

Whatever you choose, take a class early in your uspsa career, it could probably be the best money you spend.

·
Registered
186 Posts