1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, this may give some of you a chuckle, but I gotta ask, what causes jamming?

I went to an IPSC match today, my first one, to watch and see what was going on. Some folks had what appeared to be stock 1911 45's and some had what I consider to look like a gun from a sci-fi flick, but I saw several folks that had their guns jam, both types. I don't know specifically what happened, but digging out of casings and stripping out a magazine appeared to be what was required to clear it.

When I was a police officer, we shot S&W 4006 and rarely did I see any guns jamming up, and I was always taught that the 1911 was so freakin reliable that they almost never jammed, but today I saw several.

Is it just the speed of firing or is it guns that are too tight? Is there a gun that doesn't jam as much?

Remember, I'm a FNG, so this is all new to me.
Tank you berry much,
Dan'o :} :D

·
Banned
976 Posts
Well, the people that don't like jellys usually like jams.

Thus, a whole industry has grown to create jams. Companies like Smuckers, Knotts, and others both have jams and jellies.

·
Registered
15,319 Posts
secrets of the Universe

1) fer-crap ammo

2) weak (or too strong) magazine springs

3) deformed magazine lips

4) fer-crap guns (usually, but not always, 'modified' by owner)

5) fer-crap ammo

6) fer-crap shooter (not as often, but shooter-induced failures are possible)

7) fer-crap ammo

My personal thoughts on this matter are simple and straightforward: "First it must go bang".
It must do so repeatedly, and on demand.
I would rather have a reliable gun that shoots 12" groups at seven yards vs a 1" @ 50yd gun I can't utterly depend on (a phrase I feel critical to our sport, and to real-life carry) to go "bang".
"First it must go bang".

If not, stop EVERYTHING, and make it so. IF unable to, rid oneself of POS and buy/find/make a reliable gun.