1911Forum banner

What did you do in the reloading room today?

529K views 9K replies 827 participants last post by  flintlock62 
When I got up this morning I saw this thread and finally decided to open it and take a look. After reading all 23 pages and taking lots of notes, I feel energized and ready to go back out to the heat in my garage and start my next project.

After reloading and casting for about 15 years, I gave it up and sold off my equipment. Lots of reasons for doing it at the time, none seem good right now.

I decided to get back into it this past April, bought a Dillon Square Deal on eBay that came with everything for the calibers I wanted to reload for (9mm, .38 & .357, 40 S&W, and 45ACP), and a ton of extra goodies for $500.00. Was able to get primers and bullets to recreate my old loads. Then came the shock that I couldn't find my old powders (Unique, Bullseye, & 2400) anywhere. I'm tying powders that I have never used before, wishing for the day I can get back to my old favorites.

I have loaded 1000 45s, 1000 40s, 1000 38s, & 1500 9s so far using PB, Ramshot Competion, and Trail Boss. Right now I am trying to figure how much CFE Pistol Powder to use to finish up another 500 rounds of 9mm. That is what started me on this thread, looking for anyone else's load.

It gets up to about 106 degrees in my garage so I reload in the morning. Looking forward to cooler days, more shooting, and rereading this thread.

Need a work stool

i assembled my new workbench, ordered a new work stool with back....

I have tried different stools and find all so far uncomfortable. What is your bench vs stool heights? Should I be higher or lower than the bench? With or without a back? Any recommendations on this would be appreciated.

Rick