1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!
I'm only a few range visits away from getting through my case of .45 and I plan on getting into reloading when it's gone and I've loads of brass laying around in its place. I already know where I'm going to get my press from, but I wanted to get you guys' advice about what else I need to get started. I've been browsing around and see references to all sorts of neat devices, but what would you consider to be the basic requirements for reloading gear. I'll be getting a Dillon Square Deal or 550 and the dealer will help me get it set up and running properly. That will include dies, press and anything else that comes with a Dillon, but do I need things like a case cleaner, digital powder scale, etc. I'm still learning the language of this stuff, so be gentle. Thanks guys,
Scatmanblues

·
Registered
110 Posts
I have a Dillon 550B and here are a few items that I use along with it:

RCBS 505 scale,

Mitutoyo digital calipers

kinetic bullet puller

case mouth reamer

Dillon metal primer flip tray, plastic trays will bounce your primers around when picking them up with a primer tube

akro bins

architect's lamp mounted near press, ($7 at Home Depot)

Good luck

·
Registered
316 Posts
Go digital with the scale if you can. It's a lot quicker to use and more accurate.

I have some rubbermaid bins to store cleaned brass in.

You'll want cartridge boxess for loaded rounds.

I use Avery labels for the boxes and print them on the computer.

Load manuals.

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
The Dillon 550B is a great reloader. About the only things it does not do are auto index, and feed cases.

(That's why I bought a 650...
)

But, it might be a bit much for a beginning reloader. Suggestion? Buy your Dillon while you have the money. Buy also a good tumbler, AT LEAST THREE DIFFERENT RELOADING MANUALS, and then buy a complete reloading kit such as the RCBS, Lyman, or Hornady kits. Why?