1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all:

I've been a cop for three different departments ( 2 big cities and a federal agency) and have used two different firearms while on the job.
My question is an old one to be sure. With the trend in LE to use Beretta, HK, Glock, and Sig DA/SA; DAO; and safe action it is evident thats all I ever have carried. I am wondering if the thumb safety would be detrimental in a quick response combat shooting scenario where one would have to draw as quickly as possible and point and shoot.
With DA/Sa and DAO triggers ... well, thats a LONG trigger pull on most guns with those triggers. Why not use a thumb safety and SA action since its so easy to depress? Wouldn't this increase accuracy and pretty much keep the trigger pull time the same (shorter trigger pull = less time but a thumb safety being depressed adds time similar to a DAO or DA/SA first squeeze)???????????????????????????????????????????????????

Just a thought and a question. Hope you guys answer.

The Big Dog

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
I find a cocked and locked 1911 to be much faster and more accurate than a SA/DA pistol like the Beretta (which is a great pistol, by the way). Because it's cocked & locked, you need a thumb safety, but on the 1911 it is configured in such a way that it doesn't slow me down one bit. I can have it off before I even get on target. In my opinion, there is no "faster" pistol to operate. I believe it was Jeff Cooper who described the 1911 as the most efficient combat handgun ever developed.

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
It is a non-issue if you practice thumbing the safety off as soon as your pistol clears leather. It shouldn't slow you down one bit.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Practice, I have only been carrying my 1911 for 6 months but I practice everyday with it and it has become second nature to me.

·
Premium Member
20,368 Posts