1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Saw an old (1996 or so) Commander,LTW in a gunshop.
The serial ended in E, supposed to be "enhanced").

The gun was all blued. What does enhanced mmean.

Thanks. Happy Holidays

·
Registered
15 Posts
while i am no expert on any 1911 iirc colt throated the barrel , polished the feed ramp , opened up the ejection port , stuck larger sights and possibly a beavertail grip safety on it and called it " enhanced " I believe the undercut on the trigger guard , gold cup slanted serrations on for and aft of slide , and extended safety(s) constituted the XSE line .

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks *******, sounds like I should look into it after the holiday, if it is still there.
Mr. Wolf

·
Administrator
73,991 Posts
The Enhanced Colt pistols were introduced in 1992, and replaced all the "Model O" pistols in Colt's lineup except for the M1991A1. Features included Gold Cup-style slides with a top rib and forward-angled serrations, a deeply undercut frontstrap, a flat paddle-style grip safety, Commander-type hammer, beveled mag well, and pebbled rubber wraparound grips. The Government Model, Commander, Gold Cup, and Officers ACP all received these changes. Like I said only the M1991A1 survived in the original classic configuration. That model was of course later upgraded with a nicer finish and new rollmarks around 2001.