1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got started in cowboy action shooting and found out that I needed a lot of ammunition to play. I told my wife that it would become real expensive for me to continue cowboy action shooting unless I started reloading--- at least that's what I told her. The real reason is that I just couldn't stop once I got interested in reloading I wanted to do more and more and more so what's your reason, why did you start reloading???

·
Registered
6,322 Posts
Initial reason why I started reloading.....

I started shooting a lot of volume, so reloading allowed my to shoot more with less cost. I began shooting NRA outdoor "Bullseye" shooting.

I haven't purchased a factory round of ammo for my guns and rifles in many, many years.

I still shoot competitively, but now it is action pistol shooting games. At one point in my action shooting days, I was shooting about 20-25K rounds per year of hot .38 super ammo. After two consecutive years of doing this, I developed "tennis elbow" in both arms from the impact of the major power factor loads I used, and had to quit shooting for almost a year to allow my arms to heal.

Since Factory .38 super is very expensive, I could never have justified the cost of using factory ammo, when making my own reloads was about 1/3 the cost.

I now reload for over all economy, the ability to shoot when ammo is scarce, and to fine tune my loads for each gun for the intended purpose. I have developed different loads for each gun, for optimal accuracy and performance. I have different loads in various calibers for competition and for self defense. Generally, my self defense loads are +P or +P+ with good quality JHP bullets.

·
Registered
27,694 Posts
Cause I need mass quantities of ammo and I can't afford to buy it brand new.

If I could afford new ammo, I'd be selling the Dillons and buying ammo by the pallet load.