1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 148 Posts

·
Registered
3,983 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mini, Offficers, Compact, Commander, or Government. . .Which do you carry and why? I'm asking because as part of my quest to find the best size 1911 for carry. I've been asking around for a few months and I've been learning a lot. Also, what do you carry it in? Any special clothing required? etc, etc.

Thanks,
Nathan

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
I carry Para P13-45 LTD. S/S. This is a commander length piece. I like the weight and durability of steel (vs. alloy). It's more reassuring (to me, anyway). Second choice is my Colt Combat Commander.

Carried in Wild Bill speed scabbard when undercover, carried in department issued safariland retention holster when there's a need for the weapon to be showing.

·
Registered
963 Posts
Government size. It isn't that much bigger than the Commander or Officer, really and I find the extra weight helps with accuracy and controllability.

·
Registered
731 Posts
Government. I was going to carry a comander size, but I figure that if I can conceal a comander, I can conceal a gov't just as easily. The gov't shoots better, too.

Billy Ray

·
Registered
23 Posts
Officer's Model primarily and sometimes my Delta Elite. Rikwriter's right. The Gov. sized pistols are easy to conceal under most circumstances due to its slim profile. Soon, I'll be carrying in a Milt Sparks Summer Special.

------------------
"The only reason a warrior is alive is to fight, and the only reason a warrior fights is to win. Otherwise, why be a warrior? Its easier to count beads."-Miyamoto Musashi

·
Registered
177 Posts
Full size gov't. It's amazing how the weight disapears in an Alessi CQC/s.

·
Registered
27,694 Posts
Government Model in a Versa Max 2. Very comfortable and comforting. I used to carry a Para P-12. Due to the thickness of the butt, it was harder to conceal than a full size 1911.

------------------