1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm looking for ideas on what changes to make on this colt. I won it at an NRA banquet last spring and it has just set in the safe ever since. I am apparently bored and thought a few upgrades would be a nice first 1911 project. My other 1911 came with all the ammenities so I have no experience doing the swaps but I have enough mechanical ability to do at least the basic work I'm sure. So anyone who wants to spend my money feel free to offer up ideas. Probably going to confine it to things I could do myself in my own shop. Thanks, all ideas gladly considered and I'll see where it leads. :)

·
Registered
131 Posts
I'll mostly second JBnjTX's thought, but I guess if "something" must be done, then I would personally keep it to true performance improvements rather than blingy stuff.

Being the basic Government that it is (which is a fine thing to be), accurizing would be at the top of my list.

So start with a custom measured barrel bushing from EGW (if it needs it to begin with... measuring what you have now is the first place to start).

Then send off the slide for installation of some adjustable Bomars (or whatever brand of your choice).

After that, go through the trigger and make it better.

Then go shoot some groups. :)

·
Registered
1,225 Posts