1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says, I am curious what were the origanal ballistics on the .45acp ball cartridge and if or how it has progressed. I am guessing modern ammo is hotter then the origanl .45 cartridge.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I cant really say much on the .45 round but I wouldent assume that modern ammo is hotter. the original 9mm parabelum round (9mm luger) was hotter than modern ammo, in fact there is some modern ammo that will not operate some original parabellum actions without replacement of the original mainspring with something weaker.

·
Banned
91 Posts
Just doing a quick search of Federal's web site, their American Eagle 230gr ball load, AE45A, might be 20 fps faster then what I remember back when I started shooting .45ACP 22+ years ago. This is going just from memory, but I swear that the loads were either 830fps or 850fps. If they did bump the muzzle velocity up, 20 fps is not really pushing the envelope.

I can see the ammo makers being a bit paranoid since there are how many WW I era guns still out there. It is almost like the .38Spl, you can still find relatively mild loads for them because of the older guns.

Note, the Federal AE45A is rated at 850fps.

·
Registered
3,686 Posts
The "original" spec called for 230 gr. bullet to go 830 to 850 fps.

That's still the standard. The energy is about equivalent to the old .45 Colt round carried by the cavalry. So the standard didn't even change from the Peacemaker through 1985, about a 100 years. I don't know about 9mm.

Why would it be hotter? It's still shot through the very same guns.

·
Registered
292 Posts

·
Registered
972 Posts