1911Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to 1911's. Just picked up a Kimber Elite. What is the stock trigger pull? How easy is it to modify? Is this something a gun smith must do or a DIY?

Thanks.

·
Registered
503 Posts
I think your stock trigger pull is around 4.5 lbs.

You can lighten your trigger pull some by replacing the mainspring (hammer spring) with a lighter mainspring. If you go too light on the mainspring though, you could get hammer follow (the hammer drops as the slide moves forward). Replacing this spring is relatively easy and something you can definately do. I'm pretty sure your current mainspring is 23#. I personally don't like to go below 19# .

http://www.wilsoncombat.com/a_springs_main.asp

A lighter sear spring will reduce the pull some as well (available from Cylinder & Slide). This is also something you can easily do.

- "CS094 - C&S 1911 Light Pull Sear Spring
Reduces the trigger pull approximately 1.5lb while maintaining a safe spring pressure"

Adding a reduced power mainspring and a reduced power sear spring together could potentially cause hammer follow as well. Getting the proper combination could take some trial and error.

The best way in my opinion to lighten the trigger pull is to replace the stock 'trigger pull' parts (sear, disconnector, hammer, mainspring, searspring) with a drop in group from Cylinder & Slide or Nowlin. These are regarded as excellent kits and will give you creep free trigger pulls at their advertised pull weight with almost no fitting. This is something you can do as well.

CPTB

·
Registered
2,545 Posts
tagroup

The information CPTBreaker gave you is pretty much correct. Though depending on the model of "Elite" you have the factory trigger pull may be lighter. As CPT mentioned the high end of the stock trigger pull of a base Kimber is 4.5 lbs, though the low end may be 4.0 lbs. In some of the upper end pistols the trigger pull may be as low as 3.75 lbs.