1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
20,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know just enough about knives not to cut myself every time. Last weekend I won an SOG "Flash-1" and would like to know about it. I ran a search and only found typical "great knife/pos knife" so which is it? The blade's spring-assisted and really leaps out of the handle, which seems to be hard-anodized aluminum. The black blade is half-serrated. All the locks and hardware seems a little cheap. Should I just stick with my old Sodbuster?

·
Premium Member
4,787 Posts
Tracy,

I have no firsthand experience to offer. However, I suggest that if you don't get the info you are looking for on this thread, contact Brownie via e-mail. It seems as though he has beat the hell out of every knife out there, and he seems like a straight shooter.

Let me know what you find out.

Be well!

D

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
I haven't handled one personally, but I used to be really "in to" knives and my general impression has been they're pretty good. Good bang / buck ratio.

I've had maybe 3 "assisted opener" (not counting switchblades) -- a Kershaw Leek, Kershaw Boa and a Timberline VDL. I gave the Timberline to my dad and the Kershaw is on my "don't sell" list.

It's about a $40 knife so I suspect it's very comparable to a Kershaw Leek.

It's also AUS-8, which is not bad at all. Fairly hard -- holds an edge well, and is stainless. Harder to sharpen that you're typical Case though.

Mike

·
Registered
13 Posts
AZ Husker: Please write a review

As I understand, it's a fairly new knife. And while it's innovative, it's not a knife suitable for everyone.

As usual as with any knife, there had been some slight complaints about it's lock-up. But I haven't handled one, so I really can't say.

However, should you wish to ask more questions, why not try the SOG Forums at these sites?
http://www.sogknives.com/forums.htm

Krizzard, out
"...Whoever kills with the sword must be killed by the sword... "