1911Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,601 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using the Tom Wilson jigs for 20 years or more. I got the Ron Power universal jigs for use on other guns when they came out. I've since bought the 1911 adapter for the Power jig. I have ended up using the Power jig to set the hammer hook height & the Wilson jig for the sear. I use the Wilson hammer jig to stone the engagement face of the hooks. I've seen the Marvel jigs, but don't want to spend the money unless they are substantially better than my current setup. Any thoughts on this from the smiths?

·
Registered
2,679 Posts
Hi BBBBill,
I've used the Marvel jig & liked it okay, but it is made of anodized aluminum & it wore through pretty quick (maybe I was too rough with it??). Brownells stood behind it & replaced it with a Power Series 1 fixture which I thought would be more durable. The other complaint with the Marvel, is that I found the sear angle hard to set & change. The sear is held in place by a threaded shaft, using an interface with the hammer to establish the angle. Changing the angle is a hard thing to do, as there is not a set screw that locates the angle of the sear (like a Wilson jig).

The Powers Series I is a nice versatile tool, but I got one that was made "out of square" (it cuts the surface more on one side than the other). I'm still waiting on the arrival of it's replacement from Brownells. No one else (that I know of) has ever had this problem with the Power fixture. I sent the fixture first back to Ron Power (over a year ago) & they "replaced" it. Anyhow, the "second" fixture cut them just as crooked as the first (about .005" across the width of a 1911 sear). It sat on my shelf for a year, with me feeling bad about it, until I got in touch with Randy Bimson at Brownells tech department. Randy & Brownells are really stand-up guys and deserve our business. They are replacing the fixture.