1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering who has been to Front Sight, and what you thought of the course. If you ever reviewed it, please post the details or a link to them.

I'm thinking of trying to get out there in APril with the wife but would like to hear how they stack up against Thunder Ranch, Gunsite, etc. I'd be going for the two day pistol.

FYI, I have a certifcate to go so I don't have to pay tuition - so no point in saying to go elsewhere. This would be a vacation trip - two days shooting, two days Vegas.

And finally, I know about the alleged link between FS and the COS, and I'm not joining FS or the COS anytime soon Just want my wife to get some more exposure to "real" training.

Paul

·
Registered
2,821 Posts
I took their free 1-day SMG class, and was pleasantly surprised at the high level of instruction. (I'm an MP-5 instructor for my agency.) Even people who had never before in their lives fired a gun were hitting the target and getting good hits. More importantly, they were getting good gun-handling skills drilled into their heads AND having a great time! The only negative aspect is having to either make a long drive to & from Vega$, or staying in Parumph, which is rather dreary. (The Saddle West seems to be the best place to stay in Parumph.)

If your wife finds shooting to be fun and/or interesting, I would encourage you to also check out Gunsite. There's a Ladies Only course for Her, as well as their 150 and 250 classes which you both could take. While there, stay at the Little Thumb Butte bed & breakfast 15 minutes away. Great food and accomodations, as well as breath-taking views, fishing, and (perhaps) some horse-back riding. The suite over the barn is THE P(a)LACE.

·
Registered
459 Posts
Paul