1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long time luker, first time poster. Not quite sure where to put this post so we'll see how it goes.

I have the opportunity to pick up a 1* Springfield that was done by Yost-Bonitz. I would be purchasing it from the woman who had the work done. Any ideas what would be a reasonable price to pay. Of course it's in fantastic shape and the work done is simply flawless. She has all the documentation and obviously it has the 1* on the slide as well as the Yost-Bonitz Customs(if I remember correctly, on the dust cover). Thanks in advance.

Dan

·
Registered
2,908 Posts
Look at the Louder than Words site.

I'm no expert at all - there are experts you can ask - and perhaps pay - for an appraisal. Of course see also GunBroker and GunsAmerica; Yost is an easy search term - better than Jason or Steve I suppose.

Time was I would have said a discount from the price of a new one depending a tad on backlog.

Given that Heirloom Precision has replaced Yost-Bonitz for much of the handgun work by Mr. Yost and crew there is no price for a new 1*.

That said then I'd expect this one to be a little less than a 1* with deluxe options or a 1* on a Colt on the used market with a plus for condition. On that basis my WAG is the pistol in the condition described should be worth close to the last price shown for a new one or perhaps about what the given pistol cost new.

As always a little less for a quicker sale and a little more over the long haul.

·
Premium Member
20,405 Posts
I haven't done the research, but I'd go 75% of new cost. Ted's 1* guns were meant to be shot hard, and were great shooters. His new endeavor is in totally top notch full customs. Really no way to compare values from then and today.

·
Registered
159 Posts
That is the pistol I am speaking of as a matter of fact. The dealer was at the local show today and I was able to "fondle" said pistol this afternoon.