1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright I am totally new to the world of 1911's and after searching the forums for a while I couldn't find much on Sig's 1911. Anyone got one? Would they make a good first 1911?

Thanks

·
Banned
410 Posts
I think they make a great range gun, but due to their slightly larger slide, not all holsters fit them. They are well made as one would expect.

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
I don't have any personal experience with them, but the Sheriff's office here has had to send one back to Sig a couple of times. I can't remember the reason, but I think it was failures to feed with the magazines included with the pistol. After the 2nd time, the Asst. Chief Deputy that had carried it, went back to a Glock.

·
Registered
230 Posts
If you search in this sub-forum you will find this has been asked before. But to answer your question, Sig has had some problems (primarily early on) with their 1911's. They are made from very good components. So perhaps it was the high amount of hand fitting required as opposed to their other designs. The slide is non-standard for a 1911 and won't fit most holsters. It also seems a little heavier than other 1911's. I personally have one I use for pin shooting that had a good trigger from day one, is as accurate as anything else I've ever shot and have had no reliability issues.

·
Banned
322 Posts
michael t said:
Buy a good Colt or Springfield leave the Sig alone
I disagree, I have owned all 3 brands (Many colts) and sig is the tightest and uses the best parts. It comes stock with parts I put on any colts I get replacing their factory stuff, it also does not have slide/frame slop rattle all of my colts have had.

I'm willing to bet that is the answer of someone that has never owned one.

Oh, I also have had no problems with sig fitting any of my existing holsters.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Revolution XO